Shirini Kishmishi (Persian Raisin Cookies)

IMG_2759

Persian New Year is less than a week away and for many Iranian households preparations are well underway. Houses are being spring cleaned, new clothes are being bought, Sabzeh is being sprouted, Haft Seens are being set and many make the trip to Persian bakeries to buy sweets and cookies for the New Year celebration.

I must admit that growing up I was never a fan of the traditional cookies served during New Year. I think the main reason I haven’t cared for them is that often by the time people served them they are stale and dusty.  But when these cookies are fresh, they are absolutely delicious! This year I decided why not try to make my own Persian cookies for Nowroz……straight out of the oven, fresh and tasty cookies to serve guests.

After some research and experimenting, I came up with with my version of Shirini Kishmishi (Persian Raisin Cookies). These crispy and slightly chewy cookies are a perfect accompaniment to a cup of tea. In my version I used currants but they would be delicious with regular raisins as well. The saffron is completely optional but I think it adds a fabulous aromatic element and as my husband states “makes them taste very Persian”.

Shirini Kishmishi

(approx 4 dozen)

1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened
1 cup granulated white sugar
2 large eggs
1/2 tsp vanilla
1/8 tsp ground saffron dissolved in 1 tsp hot water (optional)
1 cup flour
1/4 tsp salt
1 cup currants (or you may use regular or sultana raisins)

Pre-heat the oven to 350 degrees celsius.

Cream together softened butter and sugar on medium speed of a stand mixer or hand mixer for 2 minutes.

IMG_2741

Add eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition. Add the vanilla and saffron water and beat until incorporated.

IMG_2746

Slowly add the flour on low speed of the mixer. Mix until it forms a dough.

IMG_2747

Gently fold in currants (or raisins).

IMG_2748

Line a baking pan with parchment paper or a silpat. Drop small teaspoon full of batter on the sheet, spacing them at least 2 inches apart. Bake for 13-15 minutes until golden around the edges.

IMG_2754IMG_2755

Cool slightly on the sheet, then transfer to a wire rack to cool. Store in an airtight container. Enjoy!

IMG_2762

4 thoughts on “Shirini Kishmishi (Persian Raisin Cookies)

  1. These cookies are my favorite Persian cookies. I would always buy a container everytime I go to the local Persian market. I even had them at my wedding. So when I saw your recipe, I got super excited. I made them with the saffron and they came out exactly as the ones in the store. I am actually doing a ’25 Days of Christmas – Cookie Style’ blog starting on Dec. 1st. Starting 12/1, I will be posting a different cookie recipe all the way leading into Christmas. I definitely will feature these as one of the 25 recipes. I will definitely give you a shout out when I do the posting. Feel free to check out and follow my blog at http://www.SweetDashofSass.com. Thanks again for posting such an awesome and delicious recipe! 🙂

  2. Thank you so much for this recipe. I made them and they were fantastic. They are my brother-in-laws favourites and I was so happy that they worked so well. Thank you for your blog and I wish you all the best.

Leave a Reply

