Khorest-e Esfanaj (Persian Beef, Spinach and Dried Plum Stew)

IMG_2847

Sleep – how I miss thee. A full nights sleep has become a distant memory for me. Coffee has become my best friend. Life with a teething four-month old and an energetic four-year old lends to little rest. It would be safe to say that I’ve been a little run down lately!

Therefore, I thought I’d prepare something delicious and nutrient rich to help keep me and my family healthy and energized. Khorest-e Esfanaj is the perfect remedy to exhaustion. A nourishing stew of braised beef with spinach, golden onions, and dried plums, this dish is loaded with protein, iron, B vitamins, zinc, vitamin K, vitamin C, vitamin A and fibre. This stew could be the next best thing to a double shot of espresso in keeping your energy up!

Khorest-e Esfanaj
(Serves 4-6)

3 tbsp canola oil
2 medium onions, thinly sliced
1 tsp turmeric
1 lb stewing beef, cut into 1 inch pieces
1 1/2 lbs fresh spinach (approx 4 bags), washed, well dried and coarsely chopped or torn.
1/2 cup chopped chives
1 1/2 cups chicken broth
2 cups pitted dried plums (prunes)
juice of one lime
salt & pepper

In a large pot (or Dutch Oven), heat the canola oil over medium heat. Fry the onions, stirring occasionally until soft and golden, about 10 minutes. Add the turmeric and fry for another minute.

IMG_2832

Turn the heat up slightly to medium-high and add the beef to the pot. Brown the beef well on all sides, about 5-10 minutes.

IMG_2270

Add the spinach and chives to the pot (you might have to add the spinach in batches until it wilts down). Cook for about 5-10 minutes until all the spinach is wilted.

IMG_2835

Add the chicken broth, lime juice, prunes, 1 tsp of salt and 1/2 tsp pepper. Bring to a boil and then turn down the heat to low. Cover and simmer for 2 hours, stirring occasionally. Taste and adjust seasoning if necessary.

IMG_2837

Serve with steamed basmati rice. Enjoy!

9 thoughts on “Khorest-e Esfanaj (Persian Beef, Spinach and Dried Plum Stew)

  1. This sounds so delicious Farnaz!! I’ve been meaning to find a delicious spinach dish for my husband for a while (it’s one of his favourite vegetables) and I think this might be it… in competition with Azita’s borani recipe over at Fig & Quince 🙂 Thanks so much for sharing… love your blog! Following xx

  2. This is one of my favorite favorite (did I say favorite?) favorite types of khoresh. Looks great! And yeah looks like we were both on the spinach wavelength. It happens to me all the time with Fae, I’m thinking of posting something and lo she’s beaten me to it. ha ha ;D
    ps coffee is my best friend too and I don’t even have your excuse. have fun with your lovely bundles xo-a

  3. Hi Farnaz! Nutritious and looks like a delicious stew! I loved seeing dried plum in here – I thought Asian would only use those. 🙂

  4. Hi Farnaz,
    I am fellow blogger, bumped into your page while blog surfing to use my bounty of swiss chard. This is such a good and a different recipe, although I do not eat beef but can substitute with lamb.
    Thanks for sharing. I am happy that I found you, since my family loves Persian cuisine and you have some real good recipes which I have never heard before.

Leave a Reply

